Modi’s Government identified 2,508 cities under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

According to the published news, the Modi’s government has selected 2,508 cities from 26 states under ‘Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana’ for providing affordable housing for urban poor across the country. This news was released by the Lok Sabha today.

During the question hour, the Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu said that a total of 2,508 cities of 26 states have been selected for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Housing for all Mission on 25 April 2016.

According to the scheme guidelines, UD Minister said that the houses should be constructed on the basis of structural safety against earthquakes, flood, cyclone, landslide etc. under PMAY Mission. conforming to the National Building Code and other relevant Bureau of Indian Standards Codes.

Under the mission, the houses will be constructed with the help of technology, best layout designs and building plans to make disaster resistant and eco-friendly technologies.

The Modi’s government aims to construct more than two crore houses for urban poor across the country by 2022.

Under the scheme, only EWS and LIG categories people will get the benefits for the development of urban areas of the country.

Mr. Naidu also said that this is the primary responsibility of the state government to provide shelter for the homeless people of urban areas.

In order to complete this mission, the Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation is going to launch a scheme named ‘Shelter for Urban Homeless’ as a component of Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana – National Urban Livelihoods Mission for providing permanent shelters with basic facilities to urban homeless.

As per the information received from the states and UTs, a total of 770 shelters have been sanctioned by states and UTs with a capacity of about 38,770 inmates. Out of this, 270 shelters with a total capacity of about 11,900 inmates are operational.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *